Self Assessment: I’m not a Sociopath

I took this Sociopath test at http://www.playbuzz.com/joycemartin10/can-you-pass-the-sociopath-test. I flunked it, which is to say that it told me I was a sociopath. I can’t accept that label. Sure, I have antisocial tendencies, brought about by a string of misfortunes starting from pretty much the day I was born until now. But I have morals, and as I understand it, sociopaths don’t.

Granted, I lie a good deal. The circumstances of my life have required it. My real name is not Emilah. I can’t reveal my real name, and for a good reason that I can’t tell anyone. I can’t post an actual picture of myself. I know other people who don’t like posting pictures of themselves, and they don’t have the same reason for it that I do. It doesn’t mean we are all sociopaths.

I admit that I’m not a social person. I don’t make friends easily, and I understand why. I’ve never been in love, not really, and I don’t expect to ever be deeply involved romantically with anyone, male or female. I have difficulty even thinking of men in that way, for myself. I understand that a lot of people are heterosexual, and if it’s right for them, I have no problem with them behaving in ways that I don’t want to.

I’m often impulsive. With the way my life has gone, I obviously exercise poor judgment in many matters. I’m more logical than emotional, mostly because I’ve been hurt too much to let my emotions have sway. That’s not to say my logic is always correct, obviously.

Is all that enough to label me as a sociopath?

If I were a sociopath, would I care about being labeled one?

Seriously, I wouldn’t knowingly hurt anyone.

You can friend me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/emilahthicke

Or on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/EmilahThicke

And you can Like my Facebook fan page, even though I haven’t actually published my story yet, just one more plan that hasn’t come to fruition. I wrote my novella back in 2008. It was almost published, but the publisher went out of business before they published the anthology my story was accepted for. Hey, if I get enough Likes on my fan page, maybe that will motivate me to self-publish my story. My Facebook fan page is here:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Emilah-Thicke-Author/122294351287365. Like me.

You know, because apparently I need friends.

And today is my birthday. Yes, I know you have no reason to believe me, especially since today is April Fools Day and I’ve already admitted to being a liar. Whatever.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Self Assessment: I’m not a Sociopath

  1. tearsofash

    Those tests are not a diagnosis. Ask your Psychiatrist about it. Cluster B personality disorders are nothing to mess with. There are therapies out there like DBT that can help. one other thing, doctors don’t like to openly admit you have this. Why? Mostly because they are afraid knowing will make it worse due to the nature of the disorder.

    • HI, tears of ash. You sound like someone with knowledge and experience. We both can agree that those tests are not a diagnosis. I did a double take when I saw the results I got on that test, though. I just took that test on an impulse and didn’t really expect the results, but can understand why the test thinks I’m a sociopath.

      I’ve been to a psychiatrist, more than one. I think I have my life under control now, to the extent that is possible for me. I at least have a decent understanding of my own head and heart. The largest problems in my life are the fallout from mistakes made by other people, with me being the one paying for them and having to learn to cope. Makes it difficult to trust others. When I do start trusting someone, things often go awry, not always with malicious intent on the part of the other person, but it affects me the same way.

      This world is a seriously fucked up place. Some people don’t see how messed up it is. Some people have blinders on. I think anyone who doesn’t have some psychological problems must be blind to the injustices and cruelties inflicted on people on a daily basis. If everyone understood the world they live in and gave a shit, maybe there would be fewer problems. Thank you for not wearing blinders. The world needs more people like you.

Leave a Reply

